Story Background

This is written by Beverly, my author.

WHY I DECIDED TO WRITE CAVES, CANNONS, AND CRINOLINES

One summer, my husband and I visited the small town of Vicksburg, MS, sitting on a hill high above the Mississippi River. The Civil War is my favorite time period in history, and we’ve visited several battlefields, museums, and parks dedicated to the brave men and women who fought in the war and sometimes gave their lives. I fell in love with the town.

We toured Victorian homes that were standing during the war. The guides told us fascinating stories about the families that lived in those houses. I wish I had time and space to share them with you. We went to the Old Courthouse overlooking the river of today as it once overlooked the ironclads that fought in the waters. The courthouse is now a museum. Wandering through the displays of old furniture, clothing, and uniforms brought the period alive. I bought books and newspapers from the time. I listened to stories of how the people fled to caves they’d had dug behind their homes to escape the cannon shells that rained down on the city sometimes night and day. How the Federal army cut off the city from the rest of the world. Supplies ran low. No food or medicine or ammunition for the soldiers. And I thought, I have to write the story of the brave men, women, and children who fought their own battle while their sons and husbands were fighting theirs.

The Stamford family is fictional though their life is loosely based on some of the journals and books I read. I wanted to show both sides of the war and hope that I succeeded. If you enjoy historical stories, I hope you’ll pick up a copy of my novel and share Lizzie’s joys, her sorrows, her courage and also the times she’s simply human and her courage fails her. Many of you have ancestors who fought, lived, and even died standing up for their beliefs.

Thank you.

Beverly  

Leave a Reply

